Am I fabulous just as I am?

Standard

I’ve spent hours over the last couple of days surfing the internet for websites related to body image, fat acceptance, and healthy eating without dieting.   It’s certainly given me a lot of food for thought, but it’s hard for me to focus on any one big concept or “aha” revelation.

The big take-away for me is that I’m not alone.  There are a lot of people out there who are like me, unhappy with body size and shape and frustrated with the standard diet and exercise solution.  I do want to be healthy.  Somehow, finding a way to truly love my body, just as it is right now, seems to be a big part of achieving that goal.  Is it possible that I am fabulous just as I am, without losing a single pound?

Okay, so I do think that I am fabulous – in some ways.  But when I list my positive qualities, none of them have to do with my physical self.   For as long as I can remember, my body has been imperfect and my weight has been some kind of problem that I needed to conquer.   But I’ve never been able to look in the mirror without some self-criticism or pass judgement on my body data (weight, measurements, clothing size).  I’ve gotten better about catching and stopping that negative self-talk in my head, but I can’t say that I truly love my body just as it is. 

One “aha” that I had recently is that I truly appreciate and value my mind, but not my body.  Since I do value my mind, I take care of it by nurturing my curiosity, indulging in my thoughts, reading, and engaging in stimulating conversations.  However when it comes to my body, I don’t always take care of it with regular exercise and nourishing food.  Taking care of my body seems like work, while taking care of my mind seems like fun.   If I love and appreciate my body, then taking care of me might be less of a chore.   At least I think I’ll want to make exercise and eating well a true priority, rather than doing it because I should.

“We cannot change anything until we accept it. Condemnation does not liberate, it oppresses.” ~ Carl Jung

Truly learning to accept and love my body, just as it is, seems to be a good start.   All of me is fabulous, just as I am.  I hope someday to really believe it.

2 responses »

  1. Laura, I’ve read this post several times. I don’t know that I truly ACCEPT my body, either. I’m not even entirely sure what acceptance of my body would feel like. Good food for thought for me.

    I am right there with you on having appreciation for my MIND, as a separate entity from my physical self. Reading, talking, being creative–those are all fun things for me, too. But without our brain, we wouldn’t have those thoughts, and our brain is part of our physical body. Mind, body and spirit are all connected in our time on earth. I need to think more about that—just writing stream of conciousness right now. I am out of balance–mind and spirit get so much more of my attention than body.

    Sandy K

  2. Thanks for sharing your reflection that our mind, body, and spirit are all connected. I’m also out of balance by spending way more time on my mind and spirit than on my body. But they are all interelated. So what do I think about my body and how do I spiritually connect with my body? I need to work on bringing these aspects of myself all together positively.

Leave a Reply

