Not Defined by Numbers

Standard

I don’t want my self-esteem to be defined by numbers.  I’m the only one who can give numbers the power to make me feel unworthy.   These are the numbers that do not define my value:

. . . . . . . . . My age

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . My weight

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . My height

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . My BMI

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . My clothing size

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  My bust/waist/hip measurements

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . The number of calories that I eat in a day

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . The number of minutes that I exercise each day

I am so much more than this data.  Yet it’s easy for me to feel shamed by numbers related to my body size.  I want to neutralize these numbers.  They do not define me.

2 responses »

  1. I’m struggling with this one. While I realize that all those numbers don’t define my intelligence, wit, kindness, creativity, etc – some numbers have become critical to me. I was formally diagnosed with diabetes last Thursday. While I have been “waking up” to making changes – this wake up call registered with me. But true to form, I have done very little so far in terms of researching and completing the changes I need to make. I started taking the med on Saturday and am gauging some minor side effects.

    That changes today – I will learn more about what is necessary for reversing this diagnosis.

    So right now, my blood pressure, blood sugar, TSH, cortisol level and more numersare the important numbers in my life in terms of getting back to health and wellness (and hopefully a happier state). The number than I am most focused on is the recommendation to lose 20% of my body weight. But I can’t think of it in terms of 20% – I have to think of it as the first 5%, then then next 5% and so on.

    It’s go time.

  2. Hang in there Michele! I’ll bet that at first, the news of your diagnosis hit hard. But this is a real wake-up call to start putting yourself first. I’m sure that it will take time to do the research and get a healthy eating pattern in order to help lower your blood sugar level. Are you able to work with a nutritionist? Exercise will help too. I’m betting that weight loss will naturally follow.

    Some numbers are really important, and I definitely see your point.

    Taking good care of yourself is top priority!

Leave a Reply

