Chew on this!

Standard

I just came across an interesting blog post written by Karen C.L. Anderson:  Nom, Nom, Nom

Her post is all about the importance of slowing down and thoroughly chewing our food when we eat.   People who chew their food more before swallowing are leaner that people who don’t.   A study described in Scientific American actually concluded that more mastication cuts calorie intake by 12%.  Those who chewed more had lower levels of the hunger hormone ghrelin after they ate.

Forty chews per bite seems to be the target number. 

I’m guessing that I definitely don’t chew that many times before I swallow.  At my next meal, I’m going to pay attention to my chewing.  I’ll update my post with the results!

 

Leave a Reply

