Numbers on the Scale

Standard

I’ve been reading more blogs than writing lately as I find motivation to take steps toward more exercise and healthier eating.   The last several times I’ve attempted changes, I’ve been so discouraged by the slow and sometimes non-existent progress on the scale.  My discouragement with the number on the scale has lead me to give up. 

This wonderful blog post from Tiffyfanny on the Sparkpeople website is very encouraging and definitely worth a read:

 
Tiffany, the author of this post, has another blog with her friend Chrystal called 2FitFreaks and she has a page on Facebook writing as Work Out Girl.  I find her story very inspiring.  She has made significant progress toward health and fitness that she measures beyond what shows up on the scale. 
 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. I’m trying to let go of the numbers on the scale, too. It’s hard because I’m at my all-time highest, non-pregnant weight. No matter what others may think or say, to me this weight is unacceptable and diminishes my self esteem. For well over a year I’ve tried different approaches. The longest I’ve managed to stick to any plan has been about a week. My behaviors are so ingrained that I quickly undermine myself.

    A few months ago I noticed a shift in thinking.

    I took a long objective look at my body. I realized that I could move through the world without others staring and pointing. I realized that the important people in my life hadn’t stopped loving me because I weighed more.

    I also assessed my health, and decided that I needed to devote time and resources to getting the care I needed. Since there are certain health issues in my family I went in for screenings. I got a large day-by-day pill case and started taking a daily doses of baby aspirin, fish oil, and other supplements.

    Another big issue in my life is stress. During the day I often felt internal intensity, like a motor revving it’s motor. It can happen when too many people are vying for my attention, when I make a mistake, or when I feel rushed. I’ve started forcing myself to focus on one action at a time. No one can truly multi-task. I ruthlessly cut my to-do list on a routine basis. I budget money for a monthly massage. And, I strategically plan commitments so that I have adequate unstructured time.

    Finally, I stopped punishing myself for not losing weight. I bought clothes that fit. I also accepted that right now I’m not going to make time for daily exercise. By letting go of this expectation, I was able to stop chastising myself each day for failing to do something I knew I had no intention of doing.

    None of these things has required me to eat less or break a sweat. However, as I practice these new behaviors I’ve noticed that I’m feeling better. I haven’t resolved all my body, health, stress, and self-acceptance issues. I haven’t given up my desire to eventually lose weight and feel more fit. But, by shifting the focus to changes I feel ready to make, I’ve gotten a small taste of success.

    Baby steps.

    • Thanks for sharing Claire! Your post is exactly what this blog is all about — self-love and acceptance and taking “do-able” steps toward better health. I think the changes that you describe are really giant steps! You are accepting yourself as you are today, treating yourself with patience and love, and moving in the right direction to improve your physical health and mental wellbeing. Great job!

Leave a Reply

