Week One’s Progress and I feel great!

Standard

I made three positive changes this week and I’m already noticing a difference in how I feel.

The biggest change has been exercise.  I had a great time at aerobics class on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  Aerobics gives me more of a workout than walking.  The movements work all parts of my body and I really work up a sweat.  Yoga on Thursday was a challenge.  I didn’t enjoy yoga class as much as aerobics.  It’s hard work!  But my body felt great afterwards.  I noticed that I even carried myself differently as I walked.   The physical feeling at the end of a yoga session is worth pushing through even though I’m not enthusiastic.  On Saturday, I felt so good that I had the strength and stamina to shovel lots of snow from my driveway and walkways around my house.  I worked up a sweat and it was a great workout.  

I made some changes to my eating during this last week.  I cut down substantially on eating any foods with grains, including wheat, rye, and oats.   Although I don’t want it to be so, I’ve got to admit that I feel better with minimum carbohydrates in my diet.   According to some articles that I’ve read that even whole grains can cause inflammation in the digestive tract and interfere with the absorbtion of nutrients.  I decided to move toward eating a more basic diet that focuses on proteins and vegetables with a limited amount of glucose from starches such as rice and potatoes.  The diet that I’m moving into is the Perfect Health Diet.  I’ve ordered the book and reading as much as I can find on the web to learn about the eating plan and its benefits.  I’ve got to say that I feel great with the changes that I’ve made so far with reducing the grains that I consume.  I haven’t felt the nagging hunger that I usually feel 3-4 hours after a meal.  My energy level is also very even. 

Vitamins and supplements!  I made sure to take my multi-vitamins daily.  I also took a cod liver oil supplement with 4000 mg of vitamin D3 to help restore my deficiency.  I took 100 mg. of  Ubiquinol which is “essential for cellular function and antioxidant protection” :  translation, it gives you energy and helps your cardiovascular system including healthy blood pressure.   Finally, I took 400 mg of chromium picolinate which is supposed to increase the efficiency of insulin and help boost metabolism.  It sounds like a lot, but it’s just part of my breakfast or lunch.  A big part of the Perfect Health diet is optimizing nutrition and supplementing diet with important minerals.  I plan to add vitamin K2 and maganese based on what I’ve been reading.

So I’m moving forward.  I can tell that I’m making progress because I feel great!  My challenge is to keep everything going – exercise, healthy diet, and vitamins – for another week!  Only two more weeks, and it will be a habit!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

